Punggol Beach 2002 to 2007

“Can you recce Punggol Beach?” Otterman asked one day in Year 2002.

“OK,” I said. Now I would be recce-ing Punggol Beach at least once a year for International Coastal Cleanup Singapore.

From these years of recce, I realized I have actually witnessed nature slowly taking the man-made Punggol Beach back.

This is how Punggol Beach looked like in Year 2002. The beach is divided into the white sandy part for the picnic-goers and the rocky part for fishers.

Y2002

Y2002

The following year I went, I saw sea cockroaches, barnacles and mussels on rocks. I saw some kingfishers as well.

dscn3514.jpg

dscn3511.jpg

Soon a year went by, and the plants started to grow closer and closer to the sea.

7.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

And one year I found a monitor lizard. I saw one this year too.

liz.jpg

Last year, I spotted two stink bug and a gecko.

dscn3522.jpg

dscn3524.jpg

And this year, saw a pair of herons (photos by LHam)

2007-07-08_10-13-22img_2275.jpg

I wonder what I will see next year….

Chen Kee… ready to play…

Leave a Reply

