Lim Chu Kang cleanup, 19th July 2008

Lim Chu Kang mangroves is a special tiny mangrove patch west of Sungei Buloh. It does not enjoy any protection but is a unique and special place to me. This is one of the first mangrove sites I wandered in, alone at night in the late 80’s.I can tell you there are no ghosts!

Lim Chu Kang has a heavy trash load that is never completely cleared during the annual ICCS. See the gallery of a recent recce I did with my honours student.

I am interested in conducting a cleanup once or twice a year. We are going there on 19th July 2008: 8am-11am. It will be a short but intensive session focusing on the beach area fronting the mangroves.

The muddy area has to be sensitively tackled so we will do less of that this time – there will be repeat visits. We will not be using the ICCS Data Card but as is standard in all round-year cleanups, we will measure the weight and number of some prominent items.

If you can join me, sign up here.

– N. Sivasothi a.k.a. Otterman

Leave a comment